The dark night of the soul

When life fell short
And you fell short of Life
He stood with you
And offered His own.
When the darkness led you stray
And the torch slipped from your hands
He lit your path with the words of His mouth.
When your faults overtook you
And the consequences stared you in the face
He offered His shoulders to carry the shame.
When the sins you judged others for
Grew like boils on your own body
He came with salve in His Hands.
When we fail
It helps to have a place of refuge
That your failure cannot dismantle,
A bed you cannot mess
A flame you cannot quench.
God forbid, a day comes
When the darkness finally consumes
Everything you’ve ever loved
And your dysfunction derails
You once and for all-
Even then,
Know that there is a Light
That your deepest depravity
Cannot corrupt.

Rejoice not over me, O my enemy:
when I fall, I shall rise:
when I sit in darkness,
the LORD will be a light to me.
-Micah 7:8

Leave a comment